Sick and Tired

I’m sick. And I’m pissed about it. You feel me?

I have a terrible bronchial infection along with a disgusting cold and it has stopped me in my tracks. I had so many plans this week and appointments laid out and I had to cancel ALL of them. Why? Because I have one job, to take care of me.

How many times have you put your health aside in order to keep plans or scheduled agreements? I have done it before. Why do we do that? Now, I understand some things are really hard to miss like work, weddings, vacations, etc. But what could be more important that your health? You know what they say, “you’re no good to anyone else without your health.” Nevertheless, we go against good wisdom and instinct and put our health and other’s at risk so that we can what? Make money? Maybe. Keep exciting plans? Perhaps. But for me, and I’ll go ahead for the sake of this message and speak for you too, it’s all about looking good. Come on. You know it is.

There have been those days when I said I was going to do something and then I get sick and I cancel no problem because, most likely, I was ok with missing it. But there have been those times when I have not canceled because there was someone I didn’t want to let down, or someone I wanted to impress by showing how tough I am all sick and gross showing up anyway. Looking good. 

There is nothing wrong with wanting to look good. In fact, it’s important to our survival. But there must be boundaries and awareness around it for moments like these. When looking good has got you doing things against your own common sense, values, or self-worth it’s got you like a puppet on a hand. Looking good can and will control you and destroy your spirit. It’s what was so damn hard about being an adolescent wasn’t it?! All we wanted was to belong. But now you’re all grown up and you have one job, to take care of you. Even if it means canceling, saying no, or giving it up. It’s all a matter of integrity.

Integrity is honoring your word. Plain and simple. Your word is to care for the temple that is your meat sack of a body. It’s all you’ve got keeping you in this world. When you put your health at risk, you are out of integrity and when you are out of integrity, nothing works. You can go to work ill to impress your boss or make that presentation, but you can’t hide your runny nose, sore throat, coughing, watery eyes (you know the rest). It’s disgusting. And you’re putting everyone else at risk and they know it.

Do your self right and honor your word. Stay home. Sleep it off. Be well.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Timo Rissanen
    May 05, 2011 @ 23:40:42

    Get better!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

